Energy Excellence Awards finalists named

21 Jun 2023

Finalists have been chosen for the 13th New Zealand Energy Excellence Awards. The 2023 event saw a record number of entries submitted over 10 categories, giving judges a trickier task than in previous years to narrow down the entries and select finalists.

Chair of the judging panel, Lizzie Chambers of Carbon Match, noted that the calibre of the entries continues to impress.

“The judges have had to look hard at the details of each entry and consider the evidence and endorsements where applicable to determine the finalists. We’ve found it difficult because the quality is so high. None more so than in the young energy professional category. This is reassuring for our sector and provides an opportunity to showcase future leaders.”

New this year is the Social Procurement Award, sponsored by BlueFloat Energy, a category that highlights the power of procuring goods and services to provide environmental and social benefits.

Our 2023 finalists are:

Community Initiative of the Year – sponsored by Eagle Technology

  • Beach Energy – A quintessential Taranaki partnership
  • solarZero – Community energy resilience
  • The Lines Company – TLC enables community-based renewable energy solutions for iwi

Innovation in Energy Award – sponsored by Ara Ake

  • Genesis – EVerywhere
  • solarZero – Power system stability services from distributed batteries
  • Transpower/Electricity Authority/NZX – Unlocking innovation through real-time pricing

Large Energy User Initiative of the Year – sponsored by EECA

  • Fonterra – Electricity energy optimisation project NZDC
  • Fonterra – UPS application using world-first industrial organic battery
  • McCain Foods – Mechanical vapour recompression – fryer heat recovery

Low Carbon Future Award – sponsored by Energy Resources Aotearoa

  • Ecogas – Closing the food and energy loop through anaerobic digestion
  • Octopus Energy – Making demand flexibility happen for a low carbon future
  • Ngāwhā Generation – New Zealand’s first zero carbon emitting geothermal power station

Network Initiative of the Year – sponsored by Utilities Disputes

  • Powerco – Powerco’s successful $1.27 billion CPP investment delivery
  • SmartCo – Network collaboration with Hiko Energy Insights
  • Unison Networks and Transpower – Cyclone Gabrielle power restoration: collaborating through a crisis

Outcomes Awards – sponsored by Electricity Authority

  • Ecobulb – Power$aver reduces energy hardship in 7161 kiwi homes
  • Flick Electric  – We do the mahi, you save the money
  • Top Energy – Affordable electricity for those in energy poverty

Social Procurement Award – sponsored by BlueFloat Energy and Elemental Group

  • ERANZ – EnergyMate – Harnessing the power of social procurement to reduce energy hardship
  • Northpower – Fuelling economic growth for Northland
  • solarZero – Te Āhuru Mōwai solar and battery social housing project

Well-being Award – sponsored by nib

  • Contact – Growing Your Whānau Policy
  • Firstgas Group – Building belonging at Firstgas Group
  • Methanex – Wellbeing initiative at Methanex NZ
  • Powerco – Wellness because of our work, not despite it

Young Energy Professional of the Year

  • Fabian Hanik – Assistant Plant Manager, Ngāwhā Generation
  • Matthew Cleland – Head of Wind and Solar Development, Contact
  • Michael O’Brien – Head of Network Planning, Powerco
  • Tina Frew – Head of Sustainability, Meridian

Energy Retailer of the Year – sponsored by EDMI

  • Finalists to be announced soon

This year's judging panel comprises Chambers, Sapere Research Group director Toby Stevenson, independent consultant John Hancock, chief executive of Water New Zealand Gillian Blythe, strategy and management consultant Carmen Blackler, Enerlytica director and head of research John Kidd, general manager energy at Tūaropaki Trust Dave Binnie, and operations manager at Ventia and Young Energy Professional Network representative Harsharan Singh.

The awards gala function will be held on Wednesday 30 August at Te Pae Christchurch Convention Centre. On the night support is provided by table display sponsor Gentrack, EV lobby sponsor ABB and after-party sponsor Anderson Lloyd.

The awards programme is further supported by: ERANZ, GASNZ, NZWEA, CEP, MEUG, YEPN, the EEA and the Energy Academy.