New category announced

We are excited to announce a new category for the 2018 Deloitte Energy Excellence Awards, the Low Carbon Future Award, which celebrates emissions reduction initiatives undertaken by the New Zealand energy sector.

New Zealand’s energy asset owners and energy companies have an important role in the global drive for a lower carbon future. We want to hear about initiatives large and small that contribute to reducing or avoiding emissions of carbon dioxide and/or other greenhouse gases.

The 2018 line-up 

We are pleased to announce the following awards: 

Innovation in Energy 
Sponsored by Gentrack

Community Initiative of the Year 
Sponsored by PEPANZ

Young Energy Professional of the Year
Sponsored by ABB

Editor's Award 
Sponsored by MB Century 

Health and Safety Initiative of the Year 
Sponsored by Nexans

Energy Technology of the Year 
Sponsored by Callaghan Innovation

Large Energy User Initiative of the Year 
Sponsored by EECA Business 

Women in Energy Award 
Sponsored by Mitchell Daysh

Low Carbon Future Award 
Sponsorship available

Consumer NZ Energy Retailer of the Year 
Sponsorship available

How to enter

Entry forms are available here

The entry window opens on 15 February, all entries and supporting material must be submitted by 5pm 21 May.

If you are not sure which category you should enter, contact us to discuss the best fit, or for more information contact the organiser, Neil Wembridge on

Suggestions welcome

If you would like to nominate a company, project or individual who you think should be recognised on the night in one of our categories, please send the nomination details to by the 20 March.