Congratulations to our 2019 finalists

Judges were once again impressed with the quality of projects put forward and the innovation across disciplines in the sector.

The breadth of entries, with small specialist companies standing alongside the giants of the sector in demonstrating excellence, is truly impressive.

The 2019 finalists are:

Network Initiative of the Year – sponsored by Nexans

  • PowerNet – Moving on up – Invercargill CBD underground substations and link boxes relocation project
  • Counties Power – Putting the smarts in scalable customer restoration
  • First Gas – Pariroa gas pipeline bypass project

Well-being Award – sponsored by nib

  • Contact Energy – Building better workdays with Contact’s customer business
  • Eastland Group – Mind Matters – building mental well-being and resilience in the workplace
  • Meridian Energy – Healthy Minds programme

Community Initiative of the Year – sponsored by PEPANZ

  • Beach Energy – It’s time to talk Taranaki – a collaborative community well-being initiative
  • Genesis Energy – School-gen programme
  • Unison – Greatest supporter programme
  • First Gas – Community collaboration – First Gas’ Pariroa pipeline bypass project

Low Carbon Future – sponsored by Business NZ Energy Council

  • Meridian Energy – Electric vehicle business fleet initiative
  • Contact Energy – Green Borrowing Programme – lighting the way for sustainable finance
  • Sunshine Solar – Carbon zero and beyond at YHA New Zealand
  • Mevo – Redesigning the way you move – redesigning sustainability

Innovation in Energy – sponsored by Gentrack

  • Transpower – Our eyes in the sky – Transpower and Broadspectrum pioneering drone technology
  • Active Refrigeration – Christchurch Town Hall multiple modality cooling, warming and heating system
  • Contact Energy – Contact Energy lights the way for sustainable finance

Young Energy Professional of the Year – sponsored by ABB

  • Auckland Transport – Kailyn Smith
  • First Gas – Ben Gerritsen
  • Powershop – Sean Richards

Energy Technology of the Year

  • Flux Federation – White labelling energy to change the face of energy retailing
  • Genesis Energy – Energy IQ – how Genesis is engaging customers through technology
  • Vector – V2H technology – another step towards the new energy future
  • Ecobulb – $360 million energy saving screw-in retrofit Ecobulb LED downlight

Large Energy User Initiative of the Year – sponsored by EECA Business

  • Fonterra – Lower carbon dairy manufacturing:  Brightwater biomass co-firing conversion
  • Red Stag – Biomass powered sawmilling
  • Spark – Energy optimisation through major technology and infrastructure programmes

Finalists for the Consumer NZ Energy Retailer of the Year - sponsored by EDMI - will be announced on July 24.

The Editor's Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Sector - sponsored by Utilities Disputes - will be announced on the night.

Click here to learn more about the finalists this year.