Consumer NZ Energy Retailer of the Year finalists announced

Twenty energy focused organisations and individuals will be competing for top honours at the 2017 Deloitte Energy Excellence Awards.  This annual event celebrates the talent and contribution of the energy sector including community initiatives, projects, technology and consumers.  This year a popular new category celebrates the achievements of four women in the energy sector, each with a unique and impressive story.

Toby Stevenson, chair of the judging panel, says “the judges have been delighted to see so many stories of energy sector excellence this year including projects, technology, people and communities.  We congratulate those that made it as finalists as they have been competing in a tough field.”

Deloitte partner and energy leader David Morgan says Deloitte, as principal sponsor of the awards, is proud to be associated with celebrating excellence in such an important and rapidly changing industry.

“We congratulate all the finalists announced today, including those from our new Women in Energy Award category, and are looking forward to the awards gala in August.  At a time when increased competition, new technologies and the growing voice of the consumer are challenging any semblance of business as usual, these finalists are driving success in this dynamic sector.”

Consumer NZ Energy Retailer of the Year Finalists

Announced today, the Consumer NZ Energy Retailer of the Year finalists are Electric Kiwi, Flick Electric and Mercury.  All three scored well in Consumer’s recent energy provider survey. 

Chief Executive of Consumer NZ, Sue Chetwin said, “competition in the retail energy market has never been stronger. So it is fantastic to see innovative retailers attracting new customers and being rewarded for offering a top consumer service.”                                               

The Awards night is being held on the 9th August at The Langham, Auckland.  For more details and to book tickets visit


The 2017 Deloitte Energy Excellence Awards finalists are:

Innovation in Energy Award – sponsored by Gentrack

·            ChargeNet – Nationwide rapid DC charging network

·            Counties Power – Infrastructure and network data interface

·            Dunedin City Council and Smart Alliances – Wastewater energy project

·            Unison Networks – Predictive asset rating


Community Initiative of the Year – sponsored by PEPANZ

·            GNS Science – Geocamp

·            Shell New Zealand – Helping Kokako sing again in Taranaki

·            Vector – Kupe Street – Kainga Tuatahi


Young Energy Professional of the Year – sponsored by ABB

·            James Tipping – Trustpower

·            Matt Bolton – Contact Energy

·            Shaun Goldsbury – Genesis Energy


Large Energy User Initiative of the Year – sponsored by EECA Business

·            Active Refrigeration – High temperature ammonia heat pump

·            Port Nelson – Quay connect logistics model

·            Venture Southland – Wood Energy South project


Health and Safety Initiative of the Year – sponsored by Nexans

·            Transpower – Safety improvement programme – Tackling our TRIFR

·            Vector – Electricity operating standards

·            Active Refrigeration – A simple and sustainable approach to health and safety


Energy Technology of the Year – sponsored by Callaghan Innovation

·            Dairy Green – Biogas recovery system

·            LZ New Zealand – Off-grid hybrid LED street lighting

·            WEL Networks – How technology enhances the WEL customer experience


Consumer NZ Energy Retailer of the Year – sponsored by Jade Software

·            Electric Kiwi

·            Flick Electric Co.

·            Mercury


Women in Energy Award – sponsored by Mitchell Daysh

·            Alison Andrew – Transpower

·            Brenda Talacek – Vector

·            Christine Southey – MinterEllisonRuddWatts

·            Tracey Hickman – Genesis Energy


Energy Project of the Year – sponsored by Energy and Industrial Group

·            PowerNet – Pushing boundaries with an inner-city substation

·            Shell New Zealand – Kapuni 3D – A game changer

·            Transpower – Tower painting finds its mojo


Editor’s Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Sector – sponsored by MB Century

·            The winner of this award will be named on the night